Our Team

Profiles of Core Members (listed in alphabetical order)

DANISH SHEIKH
Danish graduated from NALSAR University of Law, Hyderabad, following which he pursued a master’s degree at the University of Michigan Law School on a Michigan Grotius Fellowship. He primarily works on research and advocacy relating to Gender and Sexuality law along with issues relating to Free Speech and Access to Knowledge. He is also interested in pedagogy, and has taught courses in Law and Literature, Law and Popular Culture and Media Law.
Email: danish@altlawforum.org

DARSHANA MITRA
Darshana graduated from the West Bengal National University of Juridical Sciences in 2012. Her areas of interest include environmental ethics, social movements and gender. At present, she is conducting research on the lives and practices of human rights lawyers in the country.
Email: darshana@altlawforum.org

DEEPTHA RAO
Deeptha graduated from Hidayatullah National Law University, Raipur in 2015. Her areas of interest broadly include Constitutional Law and Intellectual Property Rights. She is also interested in establishing an effective link between research and litigation at ALF.
Email: deeptha@altlawforum.org

GOWTHAMAN RANGANATHAN
Gowthaman graduated from the National Law School of India University, Bangalore in 2010. He works with the litigation team at ALF and is also involved with the Gender and Sexuality projects. He has been with ALF since 2013 and was associated with the Centre for Social Justice and the offices of Sudha Ramalingan, Advocate, Chennai, before joining ALF.
Email: gowthaman@altlawforum.org

Lekha Adavi
Lekha graduated from Azim Premji University, Bangalore with a Masters in Development, before which, she worked as a sub-editor with The New Indian Express. She is interested in understanding issues related to informal labour and urban commons.
Email: lekha@altlawforum.org

RAMYA JAWAHAR K.
Ramya graduated from the Bishop Cotton Women’s Christian Law College in 2012. She worked with the World YWCA in Geneva before joining ALF as the Communications Coordinator.
Email: ramya@altlawforum.org

ROBIN CHRISTOPHER J.
Robin graduated from the School of Law, Christ University Bangalore in 2013. He works with the litigation team at ALF and his area of interest is criminal law litigation and the impact of communalism within social justice systems.  Robin is also involved with the People’s Union for Civil Liberties (PUCL), the People’s Lawyers Guild as well as providing legal support to the Domestic Workers Union and Powrakarmika’s Union. He formerly worked with Advocate Balan before joining the ALF in 2013.
Email: robin@altlawforum.org

SAVITHA ANNU SIDDI
Savita graduated in Law from Dharwad University in 2013. She works with the litigation team at ALF and her area of interest is criminal litigation and the issue of sexual harassment. Savitha formerly practiced in Hubli District Court. She has previously worked with Advocate Mohanlal B Habib before joining ALF in 2014.
Email: savitha@altlawforum.org

SMARIKA KUMAR
Smarika graduated with a bachelor’s degree in law and arts from NLIU, Bhopal. Her area of interest lies in the intersection of law, science & technology with development. She works on legal issues concerning media content, ownership and infrastructure, media diversity, internet governance, and the allocation of natural resources.
Email: smarika@altlawforum.org

USHA R.
Usha holds Bachelor degree in Library Science from KSOU. She has been with the organization since June 2006. She is in charge of the ALF library.
Email: usha@altlawforum.org

VINAY K. SREENIVASA
Vinay’s areas of interests include Urban Transport, Urban Poverty, Informal Sector and Urban Governance. He has also been part of initiatives promoting Free and Open Source Software in the government. He holds an engineering degree and was in the IT industry till 2007.
Email: vinay@altlawforum.org